Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections in India

The State Legislative Assembly, also known as Vidhan Sabha or Saasana Sabha, is an Indian legislature assembly that governs the country’s states and territories. It is also the single parliamentary institution in 22 states and 3 union territories with single – member legislative bodies, and it is also called the lower house of bicameral legislatures in six states, with the upper chamber being just the Legislature Assembly. The Union Government of India governs five union territories administratively, with no national legislature.

Single-member districts independently vote every Members of the Legislative Council (MLA) to fulfill five-year periods. The Indian Constitution provides that even a State Legislative Body should possess at least 60 and no more than 500 representatives, but a special case might be given by Parliament, as is the case in the provinces of Goa, Sikkim, Mizoram, and the union region of Puducherry, all of that own approximately 50 – 60 members. In the event of a situation of urgency, the Governor can dismiss the State Legislative Assembly just at petition of a Chief Minister, or if a resolution of no faith is approved by the governing majority ruling coalition.

What is Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections?

The elections for the state assembly are known as an assembly election (Vidhansabha). Members of the Legislative Assembly are the voting representatives. The victorious governing party becomes the government’s chief minister. Each part of the nation is divided into two administrative zones. One is an assembly position, in which the winner would be elected to the state legislature as an MLA, while the another is a parliament seat, in which the victor would be elected to the nation ‘s parliament as an MP.

Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections Process

Following the end of the Legislature Assembly’s term, people for each district elect representatives of the Legislative Assembly individually. Elections to the Legislative Assembly are conducted for every province each five years on average. It should be mentioned that the state legislature election does not take place the same year. Representatives are chosen directly by an electorate that uses the universal adult right to participate. Every member of the Legislative Council is responsible for representing and advocating for their constituents. If the Governor of a territory believes that Anglo-Indian community is underrepresented in the legislature, he or she has the authority to propose one representative of the group.

How to Become a Member of Legislative Assembly?

To be a member of a State Legislative Assembly voter’ list in the area where they are opposing for an election.

  • They cannot serve as a parliament member and the State Legislative Assembly simultaneously.
  • They must also clarify that no legal charges have been filed over him or her. Except in the areas of dissolving of state legislature and approval of bills, where the State Legislative Body has final power, a State Legislative Body has equivalent legislative authority with the higher chamber of the state legislature, the Legislature Council.
  • The person should be an Indian citizen
  • Should not be under the age of 25.
  • A person may not have a profit-making position in the Government of India or any state legislature except than a Minister for the Indian State.
  • A person’s thinking must be clear and sound mind
  • A person who has been condemned by a court or found to be guilty in any specific example cannot be an MLA, as per the Representation of people Act, 1951.

Current Legislative Assemblies in India

State/Union TerritoryLast Elections HeldResult DateLargest/Majority PartyGovernment
Andhra Pradesh201923-May-19YSR Congress PartyOthers
Arunachal Pradesh201923-May-19Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Assam20212-May-21Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Bihar202010-Nov-20Rashtriya Janata DalNational Democratic Alliance
Chhattisgarh201811-Dec-18Indian National CongressUnited Progressive Alliance
Delhi202011-Feb-20Aam Aadmi PartyFederal Front
Goa201711-Mar-17Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Gujarat201718-Dec-17Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Haryana201924-Oct-19Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Himachal Pradesh201718-Dec-17Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Jammu and Kashmir201423-Dec-14Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic PartyN/A (President's rule)
Jharkhand201923-Dec-19Jharkhand Mukti MorchaUnited Progressive Alliance
Karnataka201812-May-18Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Kerala20212-May-21Communist Party of India (Marxist)Others
Madhya Pradesh201811-Dec-18Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Maharashtra201924-Oct-19Shiv SenaUnited Progressive Alliance
Manipur201711-Mar-17Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Meghalaya20183-Mar-18National People's PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Mizoram20189-Dec-18Mizo National FrontNational Democratic Alliance
Nagaland20183-Mar-18Nationalist Democratic Progressive PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Odisha201923-May-19Biju Janata DalOthers
Puducherry20212-May-21All India N.R. CongressNational Democratic Alliance
Punjab201711-Mar-17Indian National CongressUnited Progressive Alliance
Rajasthan201811-Dec-18Indian National CongressUnited Progressive Alliance
Sikkim201923-May-19Sikkim Krantikari MorchaNational Democratic Alliance
Tamil Nadu20212-May-21Dravida Munnetra KazhagamUnited Progressive Alliance
Telangana201811-Dec-18Telangana Rashtra SamithiFederal Front
Tripura20183-Mar-18Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Uttar Pradesh201711-Mar-17Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
Uttarakhand201711-Mar-17Bharatiya Janata PartyNational Democratic Alliance
West Bengal20212-May-21All India Trinamool CongressFederal Front