Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Elections in India

From 11 April to 19 May 2019, India conducted parliamentary elections in seven stages to elected members of parliament of the 17th Lok Sabha. On May 23, the votes were tabulated and the results were announced. About 912 million people was able to vote, with a participation of over 67 % – the most ever record, including the largest ever involvement by female voters.

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 37.36 percent of votes, the biggest vote percentage for a political group ever since national election of 1989, and gained 303 seats, extending its big majority. In contrast, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), headed by the BJP, gained 353 seats. The Indian National Congress received 52 seats, falling short of the 10% threshold required to become Opposition leader, while the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance received 91. Other groups and its coalitions gained a total of 98 votes.

Provincial legislature elections in the regions of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim, also by elections to twenty-two seats in the Tamil Nadu Legislative Council, was conducted concurrently with national election.

What is Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Elections

The Lok Sabha, or House of representatives, is India’s bicameral Legislature’s lower house, with Rajya Sabha serving as the upper house. Representatives of the Lok Sabha are chosen to serve their individual districts by adult worldwide voting, and members serve for 5 years or just until the parliament is disbanded by the Presidency on the suggestion of the cabinet of ministers. The chamber gathers in the Sansad Bhavan’s Lok Sabha Chambers in New Delhi.

The Indian constitution allows for a total of 552 member of the House. The assembly presently has 543 seats, that are filled by the election of up to 543 members elected at a time. Members of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes have a maximum of 131 seats (24.03 percent) allocated for them (47). The Parliament requires a majority of 10% of the entire membership. If earlier disbanded, the Lok Sabha will remain to assemble for the next 5 years from the date set for its first session. Nevertheless, while a declaration of emergencies is in effect, Parliament can prolong the duration by law or order.

The Boundary Demarcation Corporation of India redraws Lok Sabha constituency borders each century, depending on the Indian census, the most recent of which was performed in 2011.  Previously, this activity involved re allocation of seats across regions depending on demographics trends, but then that portion of the committee’s authority was halted in 1976 after an amendment to the constitution designed to encourage the then-current family planning programmes.  The 17th Lok Sabha was voted in May of this year, making it the most recent to date.

Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Election Process

Members of the Lok Sabha are chosen to serve their individual districts by adult worldwide suffrage or first method, and members serve for 5 years just until the legislature is abolished by the Presidency on the suggestion of a cabinet of ministers.

According to the Constitution, the Lok Sabha could have a total of 552 members, with 530 from the provinces, 20 from the seven Union Territory [Article 81], and two from the Anglo-Indian minority selected by the Presidency.

The overall elected members are apportioned among provinces in a manner that the ratio of seats allocated to every region vs the state’s population is nearly identical in all regions.

A party is required 272 MPs to establish the Central Government, but if it doesn’t possess 272 MPs by itself, this can work with the other groups to create the govt.

How Members of Lok Sabha are elected

The Indian Constitution establishes the following requirements for membership in the Lok Sabha:

  • He or she should be an Indian citizen and should swear an oath or confession just before Electoral Commission of India in the manner prescribed in the Indian Constitution’s Third Schedule for this reason.
  • He or she must be at least 25 years old
  • He or she holds any other credentials which may be required in that regard by or under any law passed by Parliament.
  • He or she must not be a declared felon, that is, a convicted felon, a verified bankrupt, or otherwise legally prohibited.
  • In any section of the county, he or she must have a name on the voting register.

However, a candidate can be prohibited from serving in Parliament

  • If he or she owns a profit-making position;
  • If he or she is found to be mentally ill by a court of capable jurisdiction,
  • If he or she is a bankrupt who has not been released;
  • If he or she is not an Indian citizen, has deliberately accepted the nationality of another country, or has pledged loyalty or commitment to another country;
  • If he or she violates party rules (as defined in the Constitution’s Tenth Schedule), he or she will be dismissed underneath the Representation of The People act.

Parliament of India

The Indian Parliament is the Republic of India’s top representative branch. The President of India and the two chambers, the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha, make up the bicameral parliament. In his capacity as leader of the legislative, the President has complete authority to call and prorogation any chamber of Parliament, as well as abolish the Lok Sabha. Only on recommendation of the Prime Minister and his Union Cabinet of Ministers could the presidency utilize such responsibilities.

Member of Parliament are those who are voted or appointed to either house of Parliament. Parliamentarians, Lok Sabha, are chosen individually by the Indian people in single-member districts, whereas Members of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, are chosen via proportionate system by representatives of all State Legislative Assembly. The Lok Sabha does have a authorized capacity of 543 members while the Rajya Sabha has 245 members, such as the 12 nominees from various sectors of science, culture, arts, and literature. Sansad Bhavan in New Delhi is where the Legislature sits.

List of Lok Sabha Elections in India

1st Lok Sabha Election2nd Lok Sabha Election3rd Lok Sabha Election4th Lok Sabha Election
5th Lok Sabha Election6th Lok Sabha Election7th Lok Sabha Election8th Lok Sabha Election
9th Lok Sabha Election10th Lok Sabha Election11th Lok Sabha Election12th Lok Sabha Election
13th Lok Sabha Election14th Lok Sabha Election15th Lok Sabha Election16th Lok Sabha Election
17th Lok Sabha Election18th Lok Sabha Election

Parliamentary Constituencies (Lok Sabha) in India – State Wise

State/Union TerritorySeatsReserved for SCReserved for thePopulation (2011)People per seat
Andhra Pradesh254149,577,1031,983,084
Arunachal Pradesh2--1,383,727691,864
Himachal Pradesh41-6,864,6021,716,151
Madhya Pradesh294672,626,8092,504,373
Tamil Nadu397-72,147,0301,849,924
Uttar Pradesh8017-199,812,3412,497,654
West Bengal4210291,276,1152,173,241
Andaman and Nicobar Islands1--380,581380,581
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu2-1585,764585,764
Jammu and Kashmir5--12,267,0322,453,406
NCT of Delhi71-16,787,9412,398,277