Rajya Sabha Elections in India

The Rajya Sabha, or National council of provinces, is India’s bicameral Legislature’s upper house. As of 2021, this has a total member of 245, with 233 members chosen by state / union territory legislatures via individual transferrable vote in an Open Ballot process, and 12 members appointed by the President for achievements to arts, literature, research, and welfare care. As per Article 80 of the Constitution of India, the Rajya Sabha has a sitting strength of 250. Members serve six-year alternating terms, with votes held each year, with roughly a third of the 233 members up for vote each 2 years in even-numbered year.

The Rajya Sabha sits in uninterrupted session, unlike the Lok Sabha, which would be the lowest house of the parliament, the Rajya Sabha, which is also the upper house of the parliament, is not vulnerable to liquidation. The President, such as the Lok Sabha, has the power to prorogation the Rajya Sabha. Other than in the domain of supplies, in which the Lok Sabha has overwhelming responsibilities, the Rajya Sabha is on an equal basis with the Lok Sabha in terms of law. A joint sitting of the two chambers can be called in the event of competing laws, with the Lok Sabha having more weight due to the larger size. The Vice President of India serves as the Rajya Sabha’s ex-officio Chairman, presiding over its proceedings.

In the absence of the Chairman, the Vice Chairman, who is chosen from among house’s members, is in charge of the house’s day-to-day operations. The Rajya Sabha convened for the first time on May 13, 1952. The Rajya Sabha meetings areĀ in New Delhi’s Parliament Buildings in the namesake room. Since July 18, 2018, the Rajya Sabha has had continuous interpreting in all 22 of India’s listed language.


Article 84 of the Constitution sets out the requirements for becoming a member of Parliament. A Rajya Sabha candidate should meet the following requirements:

  • You must be an Indian citizen.
  • Take and sign an oath in the manner prescribed in the Third Schedule to the Constitution before such a member authorized in that capacity by the Electoral Commission.
  • You must be 30 years old or older.
  • Be chosen by the Legislative Council of States / Union Territories using proportional system and a one transferrable voting.
  • You must not be a convicted felon.
  • He/she should not be bankrupt, which means he/she shouldn’t even be in debts that he/she is unable to pay in a timely way and therefore should be able to satisfy his/her economic obligations.
  • Holding any other profit-making position in the Indian government is prohibited.
  • You must be of sane mind.
  • Have such further credentials as would be required by or under any law passed by Parliament in this regard.

Furthermore, the President of India nominates 12 people with specific understanding in different fields such as arts and science. Nevertheless, according to Article 55 of the Constitution, individuals really aren’t eligible to vote in the presidential election.


The Constitution of India lays certain limitations on the Rajya Sabha, whereas the Lok Sabha (the lower chamber, or House of People) has more authority in several sectors.

Money bills

The meaning of a money bill can be found in Article 110 of the Constitution of India. Just a minister may propose a cash bill in the Lok Sabha, and just on the President of India’s suggestion. Whenever the Lok Sabha publishes a money bill, it submits it to the Rajya Sabha for a 14-day review period wherein the Rajya Sabha may offer instruction. Even though the Rajya Sabha tries to respond the money bill to a Lok Sabha within 14 days, the law is considered to have cleared both Houses. Furthermore, if the Lok Sabha refuses some (or all) of the Rajya Sabha’s proposed changes, the bill is assumed to be enacted both by Houses of Parliament in the format in which the Lok Sabha ultimately passes it.

As a result, the Rajya Sabha could only offer suggestions for a money law, but just not alter it. This would be to guarantee that the Rajya Sabha does not include any non-monetary items in the budget bill. When it comes to money bills, there is also no joint session of both chambers since the Lok Sabha makes all judgement calls.

Parliamentary Joint Session

Under certain circumstances, Article 108 allows for a combined session of the two Members of Parliament. Whenever one house rejects a bill enacted by other house, it does not move on a bill forwarded to it by the other residence for six months, or disagrees with the modifications made by the Lok Sabha on a law approved by it, the Government of India may call a joint sitting. Because the Lok Sabha has much more over twice the number of members as the Rajya Sabha, the Lok Sabha has a higher impact in a combined parliamentary session.

The Speakers of the Lok Sabha chairs a combined session. Furthermore, because the President convenes the special meeting on the suggestion of the administration, that already has a mandate in the Lok Sabha, the special meeting is typically called to push laws through a Rajya Sabha wherein the govt has a minority.

Motion of No Confidence

A representative of the Rajya Sabha, unlike with the Lok Sabha, could not present a no-confidence move on with the administration to the parliament.

Union-state relations

The Indian Parliament is empowered under the Constitution to pass laws on topics that are designated for the state. This could only be accomplished if the Rajya Sabha adopts a motion with a two-thirds majority providing the Federal Parliament such powers. Without Rajya Sabha approval, the Union government could make a legislation on an issue that is designated for the state.

The Union government has the right to enact laws that directly impact individuals in all regions, whilst a single state retains the ability to implement regulations and regulating laws exclusive to their area. If a law wins the Rajya Sabha, it signifies that the large percentage of states in the Nation support it.